Meet the…

Meet the Staff

The Computer Art staff is outstanding. It is their hard work that determines how efficiently you can complete your work. It is their supportive attitude that sets the mood for each member of the faculty as they come to SVA to teach. You can always buy more computers but a staff like ours is extremely hard to find.

Staff Directory

Chair's Office

Jimmy Calhoun

212.592.2598 | jcalhoun@sva.edu

  • Acting Chair
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts; MA, The New School University
  • Exhibitions and Screenings include: Too Art for TV at Erebuni Gallery; The Big Screen Project; Animation Block Party at BAMcinematek; Kristin Contemporary Art Gallery, NYC, SideCar Cafe, Barcelona; Seattle Art Museum, Eksjo Animation Festival
  • Publications include: Bomb; illustrations in 109 Forgotten American Heroes
Mikaela Zwyer

212.592.2524 | mzwyer@sva.edu

  • Assistant to Chair; Painter, illustrator
  • Education: BA, Northeastern University
Deanna Demaglie

212.592.2597 | ddemaglie@sva.edu

  • Administrative Assistant; animator
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts
Laura Nitz

212.592.2078 | lnitz@sva.edu

  • Special Projects
  • Education: BA, Marymount Manhattan College; MA, The New School
  • Website

Academic Advisement

MAHTAB ASLANI

212.592.2522 | maslani@sva.edu

  • Academic Advisor

System Administrators

Darryl "Danan" Wright

212.592.2588 | dwright@sva.edu

  • Macintosh Systems Administrator; Musician
  • Education: University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Raphael Ribot

212.592.2568 | rribot@sva.edu

  • Network Systems Adminstrator; Animator, cartoonist
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts
Richard Hagen

212.592.2587 | rhagen1@sva.edu

  • PC/Renderfarm Systems Administrator; animator, motion capture instructor
  • Education: BA, MA in Media Arts, Long Island University: Brooklyn
  • Clients includes: BRICArtsMedia, BWAC.org, Digital Laundry, Artangel.Inc, Lillian.com, Pentzke Group
  • Exhibitions includes: Brooklyn Waterfront Artists' Coalition (various), MetroCAF Animation Festival
Brian Frey

212.592.2583 | bfrey@sva.edu

  • Digital Video Systems Administrator
  • Education: Universtiy of Cincinnati, DAAP
Joseph Mulvanerty

212.592.2647 | jmulvanerty@sva.edu

  • Cross-Platform Systems Administrator; musician
  • Education: Purchase College, School of Art + Design
  • Professional experience includes: Director of Technology, Mechanism Digital

Front Offices

Alexandra Barsky

212.592.2584 | abarsky@sva.edu

  • Front office manager; animator, illustrator
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts; MFA Candidate, School of Visual Arts
  • Professional experience includes: Designer, Framestore
  • Clients include: Marvel, Netflix, Old Navy, Downy, Ciclope Festival, Razorbill Books
  • Group exhibitions include: Lausanne Underground Film and Music Festival; Palm Springs International Shorts Fest; Maryland International Film Festival; SXSW; deadCENTER; Arizona International Film Festival; LA Indie Film Festival; Philadelphia Film and Animation Festival; Kinofest; MetroCAF
  • Website
Gavin Slyman

212.592.2516 | gslyman@sva.edu

  • Front office manager; sound designer, foley artist
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts
  • Website
Karis Oh

212.592.2528 | soh16@sva.edu

  • Front office manager; illustrator; animator, printmaker
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts
  • Website