Meet the…

Meet the Staff

The Computer Art staff is outstanding. It is their hard work that determines how efficiently you can complete your work. It is their supportive attitude that sets the mood for each member of the faculty as they come to SVA to teach. You can always buy more computers but a staff like ours is extremely hard to find.

Staff Directory

Chair's Office

Jimmy Calhoun

212.592.2598 | jcalhoun@sva.edu

  • Chair
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts; MA, The New School University
  • Exhibitions and Screenings include: Too Art for TV at Erebuni Gallery; The Big Screen Project; Animation Block Party at BAMcinematek; Kristin Contemporary Art Gallery, NYC, SideCar Cafe, Barcelona; Seattle Art Museum, Eksjo Animation Festival
  • Publications include: Bomb; illustrations in 109 Forgotten American Heroes
Brian Frey

212.592.2583 | bfrey@sva.edu

  • Director of Operations
  • Education: Universtiy of Cincinnati, DAAP
Mikaela Zwyer

212.592.2524 | mzwyer@sva.edu

  • Assistant to Chair; Painter, illustrator
  • Education: BA, Northeastern University
Deanna Demaglie

212.592.2597 | ddemaglie@sva.edu

  • Administrative Assistant; animator
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts
Alexandra Barsky

212.592.2584 | abarsky@sva.edu

  • Special Projects Coordinator; animator, illustrator, printmaker
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts; MFA Visual Narrative, School of Visual Arts
  • Website

Academic Advisement

MAHTAB ASLANI

212.592.2522 | maslani@sva.edu

  • Academic Advisor

System Administrators

Darryl "Danan" Wright

212.592.2588 | dwright@sva.edu

  • Macintosh Systems Administrator; Musician
  • Education: University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Joseph Mulvanerty

212.592.2647 | jmulvanerty@sva.edu

  • Digital Video Systems Administrator; musician
  • Education: Purchase College, School of Art + Design
  • Professional experience includes: Director of Technology, Mechanism Digital
Nick Coyle

212.592.2078 | ncoyle@sva.edu

  • Mac Systems Administrator
  • Education: BA, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Professional experience includes: Director of Technology, Mechanism Digital
Richard Hagen

212.592.2587 | rhagen1@sva.edu

  • PC/Renderfarm Systems Administrator; animator, motion capture instructor
  • Education: BA, MA in Media Arts, Long Island University: Brooklyn
  • Clients includes: BRICArtsMedia, BWAC.org, Digital Laundry, Artangel.Inc, Lillian.com, Pentzke Group
  • Exhibitions includes: Brooklyn Waterfront Artists' Coalition (various), MetroCAF Animation Festival
Raphael Ribot

212.592.2568 | rribot@sva.edu

  • Network Systems Adminstrator; Animator, cartoonist
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts

Front Offices

Gavin Slyman

212.592.2516 | gslyman@sva.edu

  • Front office manager; sound designer, foley artist
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts
  • Website
Karis Oh

212.592.2528 | soh16@sva.edu

  • Front office manager; illustrator; animator, printmaker
  • Education: BFA, School of Visual Arts; MPS Art Education, School of Visual Arts
  • Website